(almost) spring cleaning and hello

Saturday, March 29, 2008

It wasn’t intentional…this return to gardening. I’ve been doing work on the inside of the house (pulling up carpet, laying some laminate flooring, picking out paint colors) and even bought some houseplants. I guess that was a sign of things to come.

before

This is what my ‘garden’ area has looked like, off and on, for the past few years. And I didn’t even set out to clear it to get to be able to work on it. We lost a large portion of a tree and were having people in to help get rid of the remains of it and I asked them to knock down the weeds on this level as long as they were here.

Here is the project that the clean-up spawned, start to finish. How am I able to show you the whole thing now? I’m going back and making the first few posts after the fact using notes I made and various other writings and musings from that time. While it was going on I was working outside during the day and putting this blog and the pictures together at night. Might as well get this out of the way right off the bat: I often over-analyze things to the point of debilitation. Paralysis by analysis. And so it was with getting ‘all this’ set up…shouldIkeepusinganoldblogIhad? shouldIstartanewblog? shouldIdowordpressdotorgsoIcantotallycustomizeit? (did that…then flipped back to this) shouldIusewordpressdotcomsinceIwillspendwaytoomuchtimecustomizingifgivenfullreign? howshouldIkeepmyphotos…newphotobucket…dotmacwebgallery…flickr? (went round and round with these too)

Suffice it to say I’ve made choices and I WILL stick to them now. So far, so good.

 

Leave a Reply

