the beds

Sunday, March 30, 2008

I built these…
beds

…in the summer of ’05 and they’ve just sat there empty (or weed filled) since then. Why? The aforementioned over-analysis.

One of the ‘sticking points’ for getting the soil was that it just killed me to pay for the delivery. We had a truck and I figured I should just go pick it up a truckload at a time. But I never did. Now that gas is so expensive and we no longer have the truck I thought the delivery wasn’t too bad of a deal. So I got 6 yards of soil delivered from here.

Also, we got our first dog earlier that year and I found out that it is very difficult to work in the yard with an energetic puppy around. Particularly one who charges and barks at shovels, rakes, and the like.

I built six beds that are 8′ x 4′ out of 1″ x 12″ redwood. The five that are grouped in this picture have hardware cloth stapled to the bottom because of the many underground critters in our yard. They are ‘seated’ into the slope of the yard so that they’re level. I wish I would have left more space in between them, and I even thought about moving them. But I realized I just needed to get them filled.

The sixth one has since been moved to an area that is shadier. I’ve always wanted a ‘nursery bed’ to have a place to stick things when they pop up randomly. Whether its a volunteer that’s in an inopportune spot, and you know you want it, but you don’t know where. Or to ‘start’ things. Or to otherwise keep things temporarily.

And now I have it.

Leave a Reply

